FAQContact usTerms of servicePrivacy Policy

Illinois RN Achievements

Monday September 24, 2007
Printer Icon
Select Text Size: Zoom In Zoom Out
Share this Nurse.com Article
rss feed
Edward Hospital, Naperville, Ill.

Sheri Hey, Radek Hoffmann, and Cindy Rentsch shared the results of their research, "Temporal Artery Thermometer Correlation with Rectal Temperatures," at a local conference and received the People's Choice Award for best poster. The following individuals were recognized for going "Above and Beyond" and consistently demonstrating through daily practice the core values of the nursing profession, possessing a high level of knowledge and competence to provide quality patient care, among other things: Sue Schroeder, Linda Wenz, Colleen McKinney, Merilee Andelbrandt, Jennifer Wilson, Mel Labelle, Margaret Todd, Terry Scott, Valerie Ricken, Tammy Karn, Kim Hertzman, Barb Gambino, Michelle Moran, Jan Chignoli, Patricia Mugnaini, Robyn Cihak, Peg Trunek, Laura Hames, Jana Tindall, Suzanne Repavich, Amy Rowe, Ann Maslan, Patricia Tilton, Bob Mayton, Barb Belanger, Pauline Portell, Isabelle Villamiel, Katherine Hess, Racquel Reola, Karen Moran, Marianne Beltzhoover, Maria Murphy, Jonathon Aristoza, Carla Stainer, Barb Grove, Diane Fitzpatrick, Allison Mathis, Angela Stephenson, Nancy Stell, and Jaymi Krohn. The following individuals passed the certified emergency nurse examination: Patricia Trotsky, Amanda Simionie, Thu Bang, Angie Murray, Angie Tubbs, Jessa Leslie, Karyn Garcia, Diane Wehrli, Jan Slonski, Helen Honiotes, Nick Cole, Donna Abbott, Sheri Hey, Korrine Potter, Christine Collins, and Teresa Dubovich. Dawn Jackson and Kim Doyle volunteered for discharge education at the health promotion skin cancer screenings held in May and June. Neida Fuqua completed recertification as a certified professional in healthcare quality from the Healthcare Quality Certification Board. Brenda Jagatic passed the examination for certified diabetes educator. Karen Watkins was inducted into Sigma Theta Tau. Beverly Wendell will present a poster at the upcoming Academy of Medical Surgical Nurses Conference in October on "Implementing a Safe Patient Handling Program in an Acute Care Setting to Decrease Staff Injuries." Theresa Lombardo passed the critical care registered nurse certification exam.

Advocate Home Infusion/Pediatrics

The following individuals received ONS certification: Barb Antol, Gloria Mudryj, Karen Plaszczewski, Erin Richardson, and Lori Sanders.

American College of Nurse-Midwives

The following individuals were awarded the 2007 Dorothea M. Lang Pioneer Award from the American College of Nurse Midwives Inc. (ACNM) during the 52nd annual meeting in Chicago in May: Lillian Runnerstrom, Jean Downie, and Pat Urbanus. The award is presented to certified nurse-midwives or certified midwives who have been certified for at least 10 years, who have not previously won ACNM's Hattie Hemschemeyer Award, and who have demonstrated pioneering vision and leadership. Recipients are chosen by the ACNM Foundation Board of Trustees.

Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood, Ill.

Jacalyn Kareb has been appointed to the Best Practices Committee for the Illinois Home Health Council for 2007. The committee creates disease-management best practices to be shown on the website of the Illinois Home Care Council, including best practices in billing and coding. Megan Kuck received the 2007 Lifesaving Partner Award for her work with Gift of Hope Organ & Tissue Donor Network to help increase life-giving organ and tissue donations in Illinois and northwest Indiana. Kuck helped raise the awareness of organ and tissue donation and increase the referral rate by 50%. Christine Tallian received national certification as an oncology nurse from the Oncology Nursing Certification of the Oncology Nursing Society.

St. James Hospital and Health Centers, Chicago Heights and Olympia Fields, Ill.

Roxanne Wicklund delivered the keynote address at the pinning ceremony for the Prairie State College School of nursing. The following nurses earned bachelor of science in nursing degrees: Pamela Davis, Cindy Higgins, Shelley Mayer-Zich, Sally McDonnell, Deborah Shank, Caryn Smith, Lynn Williams, Leslie Adams, Patricia Lelek, and Catherine Lara. Danielle Lisecki and Pam Jones earned MSNs. Shelley Mayer-Zich achieved her surgical specialty certification (CNOR). Ruth Buikema graduated from an RN program and was one of the speakers at the graduation ceremony. Laura Martisauskas and Sandra Hillegonds advanced to clinical ladder level 3. Amy Honeycutt passed the nursing state boards. Diane Miller completed the AWHONN fetal monitoring instructor course.

Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Chicago

The following individuals were promoted to nurse clinician II: Tiffany Baitman, Sandra Cabrera, Valerie Cooper, Anna Krupa, Christina Lopez Rodriguez, Andrea Mehlbaum, Katherine A. Miller, Lookman Muhammed, Mary Orosa, Nidia Pagoada, Stefanie Prena, Janette Reyes, Patricia Elena Rodriguez, Rachel Veltman, and Stacey Zyglowicz. The following individuals were promoted to nurse clinician III: Dexter Corpuz, Darcy Elkin, Irene Gomez, James Kerridge, Susan McGee-Staehle, Marjorie Merced, and Beata Semaszczuk. The following individuals were Nurses' Week Award recipients: Angela Bradford (Nursing Alumni Spirit Award "Rookie of the Year"), Beverly Bohus (Nurse Educator Award "Excellence in Nursing Education"), Gloria Guir (Dorothy Rome Award "Excellence in Practice"), and Imelda Duyungan (Audrey Benjamin Leadership Award "Excellence in Nursing Leadership"). Angela Briguglio's article "Should the Family Stay?" was published in the May issue of Professional Development & Clinical Research.

Nursing Spectrum invites local RNs to share news of their own awards, presentations, publications, etc., and those of their colleagues, for potential publication in our NurseLink department. Please submit items to Nursing Spectrum, 2353 Hassell Road, Suite 110, Hoffman Estates, IL 60169-2170, or e-mail to aschooley@gannetthg.com.