FAQContact usTerms of servicePrivacy Policy

Illinois RN Achievements

Monday October 8, 2007
Printer Icon
Select Text Size: Zoom In Zoom Out
Share this Nurse.com Article
rss feed
Illinois Society for Advanced Practice

Pamela Papp, of Midwest Heart Specialists in Winfield, Ill., won the 2007 American Association of Nurse Practitioners Outstanding Presentation Award in the Outstanding Clinical/Practice Podium Presentation category at the AANP conference in June. Papp won with her presentation, "Non-Invasive Cardiac Testing: What to Order, When and Why," which reviewed traditional and emerging risk factors for heart disease, described non-invasive cardiac testing options, discussed indications for choosing a specific test, and identified management options for specific patient populations.

St. James Hospital and Health Centers, Chicago Heights and Olympia Fields, Ill.

Roxanne Wicklund delivered the keynote address at the pinning ceremony for the Prairie State College School of Nursing. The following nurses earned bachelor's degrees in nursing: Pamela Davis, Cindy Higgins, Shelley Mayer-Zich, Sally McDonnell, Deborah Shank, Caryn Smith, Lynn Williams, Leslie Adams, Patricia Lelek, and Catherine Lara. Danielle Lisecki and Pam Jones earned MSNs. Shelley Mayer-Zich achieved her surgical specialty certification (CNOR). Ruth Buikema graduated from an RN program and was one of the speakers at the graduation ceremony. Laura Martisauskas and Sandra Hillegonds advanced to clinical ladder level 3. Amy Honeycutt passed the nursing state boards. Diane Miller completed the AWHONN fetal monitoring instructor course.

Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago

Barbara Holmes Gobel was elected to the Board of Directors of the Oncology Nursing Society. Colleen Hermanek, Michael Remple, Susi Cieniawkski, Abby Viall, and Xiaomeil Zhao were awarded scholarships to attend the 32nd Annual Congress of the Oncology Nursing Society. Anna Liza Rodriguez was awarded the Josh Cottheil Memorial Bone Marrow Transplant Career Development Award. The following individuals received certification in oncology nursing: Cynthia Babler, Carolyn Raczka, Carol Burns, Beth Kubow, Barb Rice, Marie Drewek, Collene Kuesis, Anna Liza Rodriquez, Megan Edmonds, Kay Lindermann, Yvonne Rucker, Toreend Enecio, Linda Majerowicz, Sarah Witt, Stella Estrella, Jennifer Pieszko, Xiaomei Zhao, Syliva Garcia, Allison Pike, Lynda Chick, Kathy O'Gara, Blanca Saucedo, Michelle Luke, Colleen O'Leary, Kris Spriggle, Deb Mast, Maribeth Mielnicki, Jessica Palis, Kara Olson, Marisa Streelman, Karen Egan, Jenny Maciejewski, Giovannina Chervinko, Patti Lauer, Anne Longing, and Marge Pierce. The following individuals received certification in hospice and palliative care: Bea Haapanen, Valerie Smith, Yvette Vo, Patty Peebles, Kathy Winsor, Debbie Young, Gary Blakeley, Jeanne Martinez, Meg Valentini, Karen Folta, Laurie Plettau, Steve Wagner, and Lauralee Luetkemeyer. Marry Ann Fishmann and Barb Gobel received advanced practice nurse certification. The following individuals became certified maternal/child registered nurses: Leondra Howard, Raquel Ashley, Doreen Perricone, Odessa Williams, and Christina Mitchell. Kara Anderson and Jodie Diegel became certified inpatient obstetric registered nurses. The following individuals became certified critical care registered nurses: Diane Amini, Liz Malecki, and Denise Konen. The following individuals became certified medical surgical registered nurses: Katie Leonard, Kelly O'Brien, Jeanette Uy, Sharon Ward, Lani Alanguilan, Lisa Lui, Patti Sullivan, Gerty Pierre-Louis, Carly Olson, Myrogene Mae S. Gabiola, Nola Suarez, Tacora Love, and Sheila Angeles.

Children's Memorial Hospital, Chicago

Barbara Lockart received the Nurse of the Year award from the Leukemia Research Foundation. Karyn Levine earned emergency nurse pediatric certification (ENPC). Nancy Bourbon has been promoted to director of the outpatient center. Diana Halfer's article "A Magnetic Strategy for New Graduate Nurses" was published in Nursing Economics. The following individuals published procedures or served as section editors for the AACN Procedure Manual for Pediatric Acute and Critical Care: Julie Creaden, Kelly S. Finkbeiner, Harriet Hawkins, Andrea M. Kline, Kelly A. Lankin, Sarah Martin, Lorri Nielson, Suzanne Porfyris, Elizabeth M. Preze, Lauren Sorce, Rebecca Steinmann, Joyce Weishaar, and Tresa C. Zielinski. Renee Plendl passed national requirements to be certified as a comprehensive crisis management instructor and will provide crisis management education at the hospital. Cynthia Schmidt, Aimee Koski, Jessica Weese-Pech, Maria Chiappetta, Kathy Sandrik, Casey O'Brien, Melissa Judge, Sharon Roberts, Annette Williams, and Laura Bernaix participated in a study funded through Shaw Nursing Faculty Collaborative Research Grants and were co-PIs on the research. The study examined children's perceptions of nurses and nurse behaviors. The findings were presented at the Midwest Nursing Research Society and will be published in Journal of Maternal Child Nursing with a publication date for later this year. Cynthia Paidipati passed the pediatric oncology nursing certification exam. Harriet Hawkins has been appointed to the Emergency Nurse Pediatric Certification Reverification Course Revision Work Team by the Emergency Nurses Association. Leticia Valdiviez was named the president-elect for the Chicago Chapter of the Association of Pediatric Oncology Nurses. Swati Bavisi has accepted the position of advanced practice nurse working within the pediatric general surgery division.

Nursing Spectrum invites local RNs to share news of their own awards, presentations, publications, etc., and those of their colleagues, for potential publication in our NurseLink department. Please submit items to Nursing Spectrum, 2353 Hassell Road, Suite 110, Hoffman Estates, IL 60169-2170, or e-mail to aschooley@gannetthg.com.