FAQContact usTerms of servicePrivacy Policy


Monday June 14, 2004
Printer Icon
Select Text Size: Zoom In Zoom Out
Share this Nurse.com Article
rss feed
Developing a support network of nursing colleagues is an important factor in building a strong nursing community to effect change. Please join Nursing Spectrum in congratulating the following registered
nurses for their professional achievements within the healthcare industry.
VA Hines Hospital, Hines, Ill.
Nicole Nelson received the Outstanding Undergraduate Nursing Student Award for the 2003-2004 academic year. Recipients are selected through faculty nomination and are recognized for academic work and service and contributions to the community.
Hinsdale Hospital, Hinsdale, Ill.
Sue Baetzel received the Nurse of the Year Award. Terri Johnson received the March Nurse of the Month Award. Ruby Sumaydeng received the April Nurse of the Month Award. Jane Pelosi-Kelly presented "Neuropathic Pain: A Nursing Prospective and Case Review Study" at the Hinsdale Hospital Nursing Grand Rounds. Rosemarie Roose completed the limited third trimester OB ultrasound and assessing fetal well-being professional education program. Jan Barnum completed graduate studies in health systems management and received a master of science in nursing degree. Diane Bauman was named nurse manager of 4East/West.
Rush-Copley Medical Center, Aurora, Ill.
Mona Knuth, a volunteer for the organizational development department, received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Knuth still maintains her nursing license and has served in nursing for more than 50 years. The following nurses received awards during National Nurses Week: Karen Feiden, Clinical Excellence; Tomi Welshon, Nurse Mentor; Gina Hochstetler, Nurse Teacher; Anita Nehring, Innovative Nurse; Jennifer Toerpe, Advancing the Profession of Nursing; Debbie Michels, Community Resource; Dale Feiden, Leadership; and Karen Scheid, Patient Advocate. Danette Jungels was named Nursing Student of the Year. The following individuals were inducted into Sigma Theta Tau: Erin Greenwood, Jackie Marx, and Erin Riddell. The following individuals from the ambulatory surgery and postanesthesia units have been inducted into the Leadership Circle of the American Board of Perianesthesia Nursing Certification: Sue Casner, Cathy Eggenberger, Rosie Findley, Pat Fiori, Doreen Jantz-Makofski, Lauri Ludwig, Nancy McCann, Barb Ross, Tina Shultz, Jan Seymour, Janelle Zelensek, and Paula Zielke. Tammy Allen, Judy Carino, and Brenda Carlevato attended the AACN NTI Con-
ference in Florida. Suzanne Pyle received recertification in oncology nursing. Cheryl Rees and Cheryl Dietschweiler passed the NCLEX. Bev Cruikshank received trauma nurse certification. Tara Youngren received a master's degree in nursing.
Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care, Park Ridge, Ill.
The following individuals received certification in hospice nursing and palliative care: Kathy Bourque, Rhonda Jones, Jolanta Harmata, and Kelly Schroedle.
Rush University College of Nursing, Chicago
Arlene M. Sperhac was selected as certification chairperson for the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners and the Pediatric Nursing Certifi-
cation Executive Boards. These organizations are involved in the development of pediatric nursing certification and educational program accreditation. Eileen Dollear was selected as a Schweitzer Fellow for her work with the Fourth Presbyterian Church. The following faculty members were inducted into the Chicago Institute of Medicine: Julia M. Cowell, Carol J. Farran, Deborah A. Gross, and Ann M. Minnick. Beth N. Bolick was appointed to the 2004 ENPC Revision Workgroup for the Emergency Nurses Association.
Little Company of Mary Hospital and Health Care Centers, Evergreen Park, Ill.
Sister M. Joseph Casey was honored for 55 years of service. Sister Joseph served as the director of pediatrics from 1967 to 1979 and remains the patient advocate in the ED.
Children's Memorial Hospital, Chicago
The following individuals received ENPC certification: Laura Fosler, Cynthia Koch, Danielle Pietraszewski, Rebecca Selness, Elizabeth Allan, Molly Beecroft, Janie Carter, Patrick Kelley, and Nanette Savignac. Victoria Hodits was promoted to day charge nurse. Greg Gilder was promoted to evening charge nurse. Frank Pulice received a promotion to clinical manager. Erin Lynch was promoted to orthopedic surgical specialist. Delilah Muniz was promoted to neurology surgical specialist. Kelly Finkleiner completed postmaster's study in primary and critical care pediatrics. Janice Taczy received certification as an advanced practice nurse. Laura Duffy passed the NCLEX. Gretchen Wendt became certified as a national highway traffic and safety administration child passenger safety instructor. Margie Wisniewski completed
the parish nursing program and was
commissioned as a parish nurse. Julie O'Malley Stepenske and Josie Johnson were featured in the book Ordinary People, Extraordinary Lives: The Stories of Nurses published by Sigma Theta Tau.
Vitas Innovatiave Hospice Care, Matteson, Ill.
Rebecca Anderlik received a master of
science in nursing degree.
Edward Hospital, Naperville, Ill.
Kari Baronowski received a bachelor of
science in human arts degree. Teresa McDaniel received a master of science degree in management information systems with a concentration in organizational behavior. Judy Vierke had the following abstacts accepted for the Emergency Cardiovascular Care Update 2004 International Educational Conference: "An Interdisciplinary Team Looks at More Than the ABC's to Improve the Quality of Resuscitation" and "Citywide Partnership Strengthens the Chain of Survival to Achieve Heart-Friendly Community."
Michael Reese Hospital, Chicago
Recognition and appreciation for commitment to excellence in patient care were extended to the following Nursing Care Award winners: Digna Limjoco, Linda Dusek, Herminia Inawat, Gija Arnett, Fannie Royster, Jill Lehman, Everlena Watson, Lorna Lizaso, Paulette Kulpa, Eva Jopida-Alcantara, Anita Barlan, Aida Gingoyan, Derrye Hamer, Geraldine Hill, Anita Howard, Lillian Navarrete, Joan Villanueva, Deborah Fizer, Mona Eagle, Gwendolyn Smith, Victoria Brown, Monserat Buenafe, Margaret Gaitor, Shirley Carter, Maria Araiza, Wilhelmina Key, and Annie Wilson. Alice Engen was this year's recipient of the prestigious Thelma Anderson Nursing Excellence Award. Engen has given 46 years of loyal service to Michael Reese.
MacNeal Health Network, Berwyn, Ill.
Christine Carsten received a master of
science degree in health services administration. Anita Esposito, Natalie Bonner, and Kellie Miguel completed the emergency nurse pediatric certification course. The following individuals received certification in fetal heart rate monitoring through the AWHONN fetal heart monitoring principles and practice course: Nilene Kolbuck, Sally Krempel, Barbara Schuch, Mary Jo Kron, Shona Hagemann, Margaret Konopka, Maria Lotesto, Linda Kalinski, Lanette Lorenz, Olga McNally, Sandy Ryan, Andrea Faille, Sylvia Torres, Lynette Golak, Vanessa Conley, Megan Wagner, Lori McManus, and Maria Retana.
St Alexius Medical Center, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
The following individuals attended the Emergency Nurses Association's 11th Annual Leadership Challenge Conference in Salt Lake City: Sue Emond, Deb Mirco, and Karin Buchanan. The following nurses attended the Oncology Nursing Society's 25th Annual Congress: Jolyn Berg, Mary Chapman, Claudia Conroy, Mary Damhauser, Marissa DeLa Paz, Mary Kerber, Amber Peters, Carol Pfeifer, Tim Stovall, and Rebecca Trojan. Patti Murray received a doctorate in nursing.

Nursing Spectrum invites local RNs to share news of their own awards, presentations, publications, etc., and those of their colleagues, for potential publication in our NurseLink department. Please submit items to Nursing Spectrum, 2353 Hassell Road, Suite 110, Hoffman Estates, IL 60195.