FAQContact usTerms of servicePrivacy Policy


Monday August 23, 2004
Printer Icon
Select Text Size: Zoom In Zoom Out
Share this Nurse.com Article
rss feed
Developing a support network of nursing colleagues is an important factor in building a strong nursing community to effect change. Please join Nursing Spectrum in congratulating the following registered
nurses for their professional achievements within the healthcare industry.
Our Lady of the Resurrection
Medical Center, Chicago
Mary Hillard was appointed vice president of patient care
services. Hillard joined Resurrection in 1981 when she began her nursing career. She most recently served as director of nursing.
March of Dimes, Chicago
The following nurses will be honored at the annual Jonas Salk Health Leadership Awards Luncheon in September. Sister Sheila Lyne of Mercy Hospital was designated the Health Care Manage-ment Honoree. As the only nurse, and the first woman, to serve as the commissioner of the Chicago Department of Public Health, Lyne worked to reduce infant mortality rates in the city. She is currently president and CEO of Mercy Hospital and Medical Center and is working on expanding of initiatives and programs to respond to the communities surrounding the hospital. Kim Wagenaar was designated Nursing Honoree. Wagenaar is currently the coordinator/nurse practitioner at Lake County Health Depart-ment and has a wide range of experience ranging from inpatient labor and delivery to newborn nursery and prenatal care. She works closely with the Illinois Department of Public Health and local organizations addressing the needs of the community.
Saint Francis Hospital, Evanston, Ill.
The following nurses received intravenous
certifications: Irina Romanovsky, Geraldine Wagner, and Jaunita Gadia.
La Grange Memorial Hospital, La Grange, Ill.
The following individuals completed the nurse extern program: Nicole Cella, Angie Ungurait, Carol Reynolds, and Ronald Meinhardt. Donald Mills Jr. returned to work after spending 18 months serving in Kuwait and Iraq. Mills received the following commendations: Army Commendation Me-
dal, Army Reserve Components Achieve-
ment Medal, National Defense Service Medal, War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, War on Terrorism Service Medal, Armed Forces Reserve Medal with "M" Device, Army Service Ribbon, and Army Lapel Button. Anne Peters received
certification as a diabetes educator.
Hinsdale Hospital, Hinsdale, Ill.
Bonnie Christerson received the May Nurse of the Month Award. Jill Walsh received the June Nurse of the Month Award. Mariamma Kanjirathummootil received the July Nurse of the Month Award. Jann Marks received the Andrews University School of Nursing 2004 Outstanding Alumni Award. David Serikaku completed the CCRN exam. Marge Lantz passed the CNRN exam. The following nurses have received new positions: Robin Somerfield was promoted to charge nurse for both the Hinsdale and Bolingbrook Hinsdale Family Medicine Center locations; Diane Bauman became the new OB manager; Bonnie Chisterson became assistant OB manager; Patrice Perez became the new clinical coordinator of the women's health department; Diane Blaine became clinical educator and is responsible for the women and children's division informatics; Becky Cervanka became the new perinatal clinical specialist; Dorothy Llosa was promoted to clinical team leader for the 2 North PM shift; and Michelle Anderson was promoted to clinical team leader for the night shift. The following
individuals graduated from nursing school: Michelle Albanese, Tina Figueroa, and Nicole Major. Nerissa Decepida passed the NCLEX. Donna Kanak was invited to serve on the DuPage Medical Society Foundation Board that grants scholarships to those
pursuing a degree for a role in health care. Nancy Gozder provided neonatal care classes at Glen Oaks Hospital for the cross-training of staff for the Level III intensive care
nursery. The following individuals joined the neonatal transport team: Emily Chellappa, Nancy Gozder, Regine Larosiliere-Hicks, Maggie Manika, Gina Miller, Karen Rugg, Jane Shannon, Ashley Stewart, Linda Widbin, Karen Albrecht, Donna Houlis, Pat McDonald, Kay Nietzel, Cathy Wishba, Jacqui Wozniak, Christy Aggio, Arden Balicoco, Toni Cesarz, Ann Marie Doherty, Laura Eddy, Becky Kole, Nikki Marquardt, and Nicole Steffen. Joy Speciale attended the AACN National Teaching Institute in Orlando, Fla., where she presented "Mind Jolt - Defining Chapter Success" at the AACN Leadership Workshop.
MacNeal Hospital, Berwyn, Ill.
Martine Rousseau obtained CCRN certification.
Delnor-Community Hospital, Geneva, Ill.
Sherry Faust was invited to give a presentation on Best Practice of Accredited Providers for CMEs at the Illinois State Medical Society's annual conference. Kelly Kalin received the July Delnor Champion Award for organizing the first "Walk for Kidney Wellness" in the Fox Valley area. Christy Hiles-Teagus completed TNCC. Lisa Coglianese-Janeway became board-certified in nursing informatics by the ANCC.

Nursing Spectrum invites local RNs to share news of their own awards, presentations, publications, etc., and those of their colleagues, for potential publication in our NurseLink department. Please submit items to Nursing Spectrum, 2353 Hassell Road, Suite 110, Hoffman Estates, IL 60195.