FAQContact usTerms of servicePrivacy Policy

100 Great Nurses

Reviewers Choose 100 Dallas-Fort Worth-area Nurses from among hundreds of nominees.

Monday March 23, 2009
Printer Icon
Select Text Size: Zoom In Zoom Out
Share this Nurse.com Article
rss feed
Texas Nurses Association Districts Three and Four will honor 100 Dallas-Fort Worth area nurses April 19 for their contributions to humanity, to patients, and to the profession. Nurses were nominated by coworkers, patients, family, or friends, according to the Texas Nurses Association.

An anonymous group of reviewers rated the unidentified nominations. Scores were based on what the nominee has done for the profession, for patients, and for the community. Honored nurses were not required to practice in any particular specialty or site or be a member of the association.

The Texas Nurses Association’s 2009 Great 100 Nurses will be honored April 19 at the association’s annual gala at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas. Honorees will receive a certificate, a pin, and a rose at the ceremony. After covering expenses of the event, the association awards any money left over as scholarships.

Beth Mancini, RN, PhD, CNA, FAAN, associate dean for undergraduate nursing and acting director of the bachelor’s of science in nursing program at the University of Texas at Arlington, was senior vice president at Dallas’ Parkland Health and Hospital System when she helped establish the Dallas-Fort Worth area program in 1992 after attending a similar event in New Orleans.

“There was a real need to recognize nurses for the work they did,” she says.

2009 Great 100 Nurses Recipients

- Carin Adams, Cook Children’s Medical Center

- Dena Allen, Baylor University Medical Center

- Meera Ananthaswamy, Medical Center of Lewisville

- Robin Andreola, Hunt Regional Hospital District

- Shaun Armantrout, Las Colinas Medical Center

- Amy Atnip, Medical Center of Plano

- Marci Ayers, Plaza Medical Center of Fort Worth

- Edelina Bacani, Methodist Charlton Medical Center

- Kathleen M. Baldwin, Texas Christian University and Texas Health Harris Methodist Southwest

- Kelly Ballinger, Harris Methodist HEB Oncology

- Marco Bartoloni, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

- Dorothy Bartz, Presbyterian Hospital of Plano

- Deborah Behan, Harris Methodist HEB Hospital

- Christine B. Brooks, Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas

- Denise Buddenhagan, JPS Health Network

- Bart Burgess, North Hills Hospital

- Ramonda Busby, Children’s Medical Center

- Jennifer Chatterpaul, Baylor Regional Medical Center Plano

- Mary Alice Clark, Baylor All Saints-Andrews Women’s Hosp.

- Susan Courtois, Presbyterian Hospital of Plano

- Jo Darling, Texas Oncology, P.A.

- Lygia Dunsworth, Baylor All Saints Medical Center

- Jeanette Vaughan Duric, Texas Health Resources, Presbyterian Dallas

- Joyce Eckstein, Harris Methodist Fort Worth

- Dana Roper-Effinger, Baylor All Saints Medical Center

- Leslee Erickson, Arlington ISD

- Jeanne Farmer, Medical Center of Plano

- Jeanne “Jill” Frost, North Hills Hospital

- Roger George, Plaza Medical Center of Fort Worth

- Tom Hall, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

- Michele Hamilton, Medical Center of Plano

- Carol Hasty, Children’s Medical Center

- Andrea Hidinger, JPS Health Network

- Chris Hutchison, North Hills Hospital

- Carol Jones, Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas

- Valerie King, Richardson North Jr. High & Dallas CCCD Richland College

- Michelle Kizer, Baylor All Saints Medical Center

- Glenda Kupferle, Harris Methodist Fort Worth

- Alicia Lang, JPS Health Network

- Jackie Laws, Texas Health Harris Methodist Cleburne

- Donna McIver, Las Colinas Medical Center

- Howard McKay, Children’s Medical Center & UTA Faculty

- Debra McLachlan, TCU Harris College of Nursing

- Laura Maddux, Baylor All Saints Medical Center

- Jessica Dale, Markwardt Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

- Beena C. Mathew, Children’s Medical Center

- Tracy Messing, Baylor Research Institute, Baylor All Saints

- Lisa Miconovich, Children’s Medical Center

- James Miller, Medical Center of Plano

- Sharareh Mirzaei, Medical City Dallas Hospital

- Susie Morrison, Texas Health Harris Methodist Cleburne

- Julia Beth Nolan, Harris Methodist HEB Hospital

- Carol E. Olivier, Texas Health Harris Methodist Cleburne

- Sharon M. Overath, Harris Methodist HEB Hospital

- Amanda Robbins, North Hills Hospital

- Allison Snyder, Harris Methodist Fort Worth

- Janet Stovall, Baylor Regional Medical Center Plano

- Carole Taylor, Thomas Jefferson Grade School (DISD)

ź Gail Tucker, Harris Methodist Southwest Hospital

ź Alisa Vaughn, Baylor University Medical Center

ź Nancy Viamonte, Richardson Regional Medical Center

- Amy Vickers, Mothers Milk Bank of North Texas

- Joanne (Ruth) Vordenbaum, Children’s Medical Center

- Christine Wagner, Children’s Medical Center

- Meg Wagner, Harris Methodist Fort Worth

- Anne Wainwright, Harris Methodist HEB

- Donna Faylene Walker, Presbyterian Hospital of Kaufman

- Marcie Walters, Presbyterian Hospital of Plano

- Carolyn Walsh, JPS Health Network

- Kathleen Jay, Walton HEB Springwood Psychiatric Hospital

- Julie Warren, Medical Center of Arlington

- Catherine Warthan, Harris Methodist Fort Worth

- Hattie Washington, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

- Susan Watkins, Methodist Charlton Medical Center

- Lesa Marie Watley, JPS Health Network

- Paula J. Webb, Cook Children’s Medical Center

- Tina Wepler, Baylor University Medical Center

- Sue Wertheim, Baylor Regional Medical Center Plano

- Liz Wheeler, Medical City Dallas Hospital

- Ginger Whitacre, Medical City Dallas Hospital

- Diane Wickline, Harris Methodist Southwest

- Gayle Wilkins, Harris Methodist Fort Worth

- Dee Williams, Medical Center of Plano

- Judi Williams, Medical Center of Arlington

- Debra Willis, Presbyterian Hospital of Plano

- Sandra J. Wilson, Arlington ISD

- Mary Jane Winkenhofer, Presbyterian Hospital of Plano

- Julie Winkler, Arlington Memorial Hospital

- Melissa Winter, The Heart Hospital Baylor Plano

- Charlotte Womack, Medical Center of McKinney

- Shelley Wood, Baylor University Medical Center

- Dokagari (Dok) Woods, Tarleton State University

- Jeff Woods, Baylor All Saints Medical Center

- Katherine Wright, Presbyterian Hospital of Plano

- Paula Wyman, North Hills Hospital

- Jackie Yeap, Medical Center of Plano

- Joy Yglecias, Medical City Dallas Hospital

- Anita Zelaya-Youngberg, Huguley Hospital

- Dotti Youngblood, Andrews Women’s at Baylor All Saints

- Christina Zevallos, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

To comment on this article, e-mail editorSCnurseweek.com.