FAQContact usTerms of servicePrivacy Policy

Joint Commission awards Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers to Northwest Texas Healthcare System

Monday September 16, 2013
Printer Icon
Select Text Size: Zoom In Zoom Out
Share this Nurse.com Article
rss feed
On Aug. 16, Northwest Texas Healthcare System in Amarillo was certified as an Advanced Primary Stroke Center by The Joint Commission, in conjunction with The American Heart Association/American Stroke Association. The certification signifies an organization's dedication to fostering better outcomes for patients.

Northwest Texas Healthcare System demonstrated that their program meets critical elements of performance to achieve long-term success in improving outcomes for stroke patients, according to a news release. In July, the system underwent a rigorous on-site review of its compliance with the requirements for The Joint Commission's Disease-Specific Care Certification program and primary stroke center requirements, such as collecting Joint Commission core measure data and using it for performance improvement activities.

"In achieving Joint Commission advanced certification, Northwest Texas Healthcare System has demonstrated its commitment to the highest level of care for its stroke patients," Jean Range, RN, MS, CPHQ, executive director of disease-specific care certification at The Joint Commission, said in a news release. "Certification is a voluntary process and The Joint Commission commends Northwest Texas Healthcare System for successfully undertaking this challenge to elevate its standard of care and instill confidence in the community it serves."

For information on The Joint Commission and American Heart Association's Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Center, visit JointCommission.org or Heart.org/MyHospital.

Post a comment below or email editorSouth@nurse.com.