Fill out your new career PROfile on and let employers come to you • SIGN UP

Greater Chicago Notable Nurses


Loyola RN Wins National Neonatal Nursing Honor
Barbara Hering, RNC, MSN, CCNS, of Loyola University Health System, Maywood, Ill., was honored with the Robyn Main Excellence in Clinical Practice award from the National Association of Neonatal Nurses.

The annual award, which Loyola also won the two previous years, is given to a neonatal nurse who serves as a role model and best demonstrates excellence in patient care.

Katie Battern, RN, was named Nurse of the Year at an awards ceremony for Loyola’s second annual Nursing Excellence Awards, which took place during National Nurses Week. Battern works in LUHS’ Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center.

Dan Marx, RN

RN winners in other categories included Joy Saverino and Hering (Clinical Expert); Maureen Mackey and Pat Falk (Role Model); Janice Marshall (Team Player); Pam Clementi (Researcher); Katie Holish and Grace Hooker (Coach/Mentor); Jane Thomas (Patient Advocate); Sylwia Wright (Advance Practice Nurse); and Marsha Moran and Esperanza Oliveros (Nurse Leader).

Delnor Hospital, Geneva, Ill.: The following RNs completed their MSN degrees in May from Lewis University in Romeoville, Ill.: Tura Angsten, Vicki Bergquist, Lisa Janeway, Kelly Kalin, Laurel Krueger, Sue LaSalle, Lisa Pertl, Kris Petit, Cheryl Ryan, Marjie Schoolfield, and Joyce Springer in nursing education, and Susan Whildin and Kitty Barker in nursing administration.

Debbie O’Connell, RN

Kari Frieders earned an MSN from Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Ill.

RNs Stephanie Farrell, Annie Stryna, Cathy Volz, and Susan Wilding achieved certifications. Sarah Vanderbleek and Valerie Bezdek earned BSN degrees.

Advocate Christ Medical Center and Hope Children’s Hospital, Oak Lawn, Ill.: Three nurses were honored as leaders of the year. Debbie O’Connell, RN, MSN, was named Gold Leader of the Year. Silver Leader of the Year honors went to Gino Gentile, RN, MS, manager of cardiodiagnostics.

Gino Gentile, RN

Jean Smith, RN, MSN, manager of clinical operations, neonatal intensive care unit, was named Bronze Leader of the Year.

Christine Swiatek (CPN), Othell Warren (med/surg), Christine Wyka and Tami Rohlfs (CCRN), and Mary Fowler (APON-chemotherapy and biotherapy course instructor) all achieved certifications. Cynthia Shong has been promoted to nurse clinician 3.

Jean Smith, RN

Lynn Mohr presented “Pediatric Care in the Rural Healthcare Setting” at the Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network Nurse User Group. Mary Lynn Schultz addressed what to expect during a colonoscopy while speaking at a Colon Cancer Awareness event.

Dee Behrens and Karen DeRe presented the stroke education poster “F.A.S.T.” at a Patient Safety Forum that included Dawn Neumann and the 8 south Falls Champs presenting a falls prevention poster.

Jean Watson presented “MRSA Screening in the NICU: A Comprehensive Strategy for Infection Protection” in June at the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc.

Mary E. Bauer, RN

Fowler completed her MSN degree at University of Illinois at Chicago, and Michelle Gerhardt earned her BSN degree at Lewis University, Romeoville, Ill. RNs Nicole Dobrovolny and Dawn Cheeks received MVP nominations.

Saints Mary and Elizabeth Medical Center, Chicago: Mary E. Bauer, RN, CNM, graduated from the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Nursing with an MS in nurse-midwifery. She joined the UIC nursing faculty and their group private practice, Oasis Midwifery and Women’s Health.

Edward Hospital, Naperville, Ill.: Judy Schaller, RN, volunteered with Midwest Heart Associates at Neuqua Valley High School to conduct EKG screenings on students. Lisa Hill, RN, volunteered to be a Girl Scout camp nurse in June.

Barbara Hering, RNC

Hill also recently graduated from the University of Phoenix with an MSN in nursing education. Suzette Selig, RN, earned a CNOR recertification.

Jamie Faber, RN, passed the certification exam for OCN. Lindsay Oehler, RN, was awarded the Good Catch Award for May for her diligence during a preoperative time-out procedure. RNs Maureen Berry, Maria Huerta, and Diane Gludice passed the oncology certified nurse exam.

Joan Horst has earned certified breast care nurse certification. Ruth Boyer earned medical surgical RN certification. Lauren Blackburn became certified in inpatient obstetrics. Joseph Kinder was recertified as an acute care nurse practitioner. Tina Doretti earned the Good Catch Award for July.

Katie Battern, RN

Sabra Love has earned certified occupational health nurse designation. Dan Marx won the Good Catch Award for April.

Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Chicago: Laura Weith, RN, recently received certification in otorhinolaryngology, head and neck nursing.

University of Chicago Hospital: NICU RNs Stacey Borrelli, Mary Davidson, Jennell Davis, Mary Jane Tallet Gabala, Brittany Hayes, Jennifer Machtemes-Mangnall, Grace Marcelo-Paderon, Allyson Wright, Lina Chatto, Molly McGee, Davina Pillai, Kelly Rosario, Wanwipa Saowalak, Mary Tomak, and Suzanne Kujawa recently obtained their RCN certifications.

Teresa Bauer and Elizabeth Kozubal earned BSNs. Pat Brown and Cathleen Kickbush received MSNs in nursing education. Davis attained an MBA in healthcare. Marianne Curia earned a PhD in education. Whitney Stoller and Kujawa earned MSNs as pediatric nurse practitioners.

Julie Lester received her lactation consultation certification. Four NICU nurses received awards during Nurses Week, including Curia (Queenan Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice), Loretta Dykstra (Award for Nursing Excellence in a Pediatric Inpatient Area), Leticia Gonzalez (Nursing Excellence in a Specialty Role), and Miriam Tarrillo-Leary (Friend of Nursing Award).

Rosemary Patterson was chosen as the April employee of the month.


About Author

Send news about Notable Nurses to

Leave A Reply