Fill out your new career PROfile on and let employers come to you • SIGN UP

Greater Philadelphia Tri-State Notable Nurses


Oncology nurse Kathy Dillon, RN, OCN, Beebe Medical Center’s Tunnell Cancer Center, Rehoboth Beach, Del., has helped establish a new chapter of the national Oncology Nursing Society in southern Delaware.

The Southern Delaware Chapter has been established at Tunnell Cancer Center and is open to all oncology nurses in Sussex and Kent counties. Dillon said having a chapter in the area offers oncology nurses a better opportunity to take part in the society’s educational support and other programs.

Dillon was elected president of the new chapter, which also will include Mary Van Bergen, RN, as vice president; Nancy Burd, RN, OCN, as secretary/treasurer; Lucy Ositko, RN, OCN, as program chair; Kim Willoughby, RN, OCN, as nominating chair; and Diana O’Hagen, RN, OCN, as membership chair. Nurses interested in the chapter can contact Dillon by e-mail at

Theresa Latorre-Tegtmeier, RN

American Nurses Association, Silver Spring, Md.: Five Greater Philadelphia Tri-State nurses were elected to terms on the ANA’s Congress on Nursing Practice and Economics at the House of Delegates biennial meeting in June in Washington, D.C. Jamie Smith, RN, MSN, CCRN, of Philadelphia was elected to a four-year term. Barbara Chamberlain, APRN, PhD, MBA, CCRN, Princeton, N.J.; Nat’e Parker-Guyton, RN, MSN, NE-BC, Norristown, Pa.; Lesly Kelly, RN, PhD, Philadelphia; and Megan Williams, RN, MSN, FNP, Milford, Del., were elected to two-year terms.

Aria Health, Philadelphia: Amy Daily, RN, BSN, SANE, recently was interviewed on CBS 3’s “Talk Philly.” She discussed domestic violence and abuse and Aria’s SANE program.

Capital Health, Trenton, N.J.: Eighteen RNs were honored during National Nurses Week at the 11th annual Nurses Day Celebration with Excellence in Nursing Practice Awards. Judith Grossi, Cynthia Lynch, Karen Adamczyk, Robin Grauel, Sheila Brown, Elana Lidor, Winsome Bright, Heather Keller, Mary Ann Swiatocha, Susan DiTommaso, Gladys Pinca, Megan Anderson, Paige Disney, Anuri Okpara, Francianina Manila, Shirlane Bowen, Diane Boka and Mary Wilcox were recognized for their dedication and commitment.

Cheryl Littlefield, RN

Bayhealth Medical Center, Dover, Del.: Theresa Latorre-Tegtmeier, RN, a med/surg nurse at Kent General Hospital, was honored in June with the 1A Peer Award. The honor, which recognizes leadership, teamwork and outstanding patient service, is selected by the 1A unit’s nursing manager and clinical coordinators.

University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, Philadelphia: Dean Emerita Claire M. Fagin, RN, PhD, FAAN, received an honorary doctoral degree from Syracuse (N.Y.) University on May 16. Fagin also was presented with the Hall of Fame Award in June by the American Nurses Association during its biennial House of Delegates meeting in Washington, D.C. Fagin served as Penn’s nursing dean from 1977 to 1992. Assistant Professor Anne Teitelman, CRNP, PhD, has been named a 2010 Fellow in the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners. She was inducted at the AANP’s 25th national conference June 23 in Phoenix. Terri H. Lipman, CRNP, PhD, FAAN, the Miriam Stirl Endowed Term Professor of Nutrition and a Professor of Nursing of Children — Clinician Educator, was honored with the Spirit of Nursing Award at the University of Massachusetts Boston College of Nursing and Health Sciences’ Research Day. Lipman delivered the keynote address at the event. Ann O’Sullivan, CRNP, PhD, FAAN, the Dr. Hildagarde Reynolds Endowed Term Professor of Primary Care Nursing, has been selected to receive the National Council of State Boards of Nursing Meritorious Service Award Aug. 12 at the NCSBN annual meeting. Eeeseung Byun, RN, MSN, ACNP-BC; Susan E. Lysaght, GNP-BC, MSN, ACHPN; and Melissa O’Connor, RN, BSN, MBA, COS-C, have been named 2010-2012 Predoctoral Scholars in academic geriatric nursing by the American Academy of Nursing.

Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children, Wilmington, Del.: As part of its Nurses Week celebration, the hospital handed out its Force of Magnetism awards to nurses and teams throughout the hospital. The 2010 winners were Cathleen Rossi-McLaughlin, RN, MS (Transformational Nursing Leadership), One Nemours Team Haiti (Community and the Healthcare Organization), Nursing Professional Development Team (Professional Development); Monica Boyle, RNC-NIC, BSN, nurse clinician 4, NICU (Image of Nursing); OR Ortho Team (Interdisciplinary Relationships); Elizabeth Salerno-Johnson, RN, MSN (Nurses as Teachers); Aimee Schwartzburt, RN, BSN, CPON, nurse clinician 4, 3A (Exemplary Professional Practice); 3F Nurses and Leadership Team (Knowledge and Innovations) and the ED team (Empirical Outcomes). Elizabeth W. Bayley, RN, PhD, director of nursing research, was awarded the R. Kelso Carter Award from Widener University. The honor is given annually by the school’s alumni association to a non-Widener graduate who has brought honor to the university. Keith Fishlock, CRN, MSN, CPN, nurse clinician, ambulatory care, presented “The Role of the RN in Sedation Provision” at the fifth International Multidisciplinary Conference on Pediatric Sedation on May 23 in Louisville, Ky. Roxanne Boucher, RN, was chosen as the hospital’s first DAISY Award winner April 27. The hospital’s nursing shared governance research and education council approved the applications of 17 RNs to participate in the Evidence-Based Nursing Practice Fellowship program in May. The group of fellows included Meg Boselli (2A), Chris Panchelli (2B), Janice Johnson (3E), Pat Raymond-Anderson (3F), Lisa Johnson (3CN), Cheryl Gaither (CICU), Maria Haubrich and Deborah Wagner (DayMed), Starr Messer (dialysis), Chantel Murray (NICU), Jill Connelly, Ruthann Dejuliis, Shereen Sophy and Ramany John (PICU), Dee Delaney (pre-surg), Cathy Jordan (administration), Barbara Lennon (cardiac cath) and Larry Heredia (anesthesia). The OR team won a ribbon for its blood loss calculation poster at the 57th annual Association of periOperative Registered Nurses’ Congress in Denver.

Beebe Medical Center, Lewes, Del.: Emergency Management Coordinator Cheryl Littlefield, RN, has been honored with the You Make a Difference Award for July. Littlefield, who was nominated by peers for the honor, was recognized for her determination and warm smile.

Sends news about Notable Nurses to


About Author

To comment, e-mail or post a comment below.

Leave A Reply