Fill out your new career PROfile on and let employers come to you • SIGN UP

Notable Nurses


Ruth Ann Terry, RN, MPH, joined Holy Names University as interim chairwoman for the Department of Nursing. She served 26 years with the California Board of Registered Nursing — 17 as of those years as its executive officer. In 2010 Terry received’s Diane F. Cooper Lifetime Achievement Award. Upon delivering the award,’s Vice President of Nursing Communications & Initiatives Judith Berg, RN, MS, FACHE, said, “Terry’s cool-headed, excellent communication skills and a fabulous sense of humor ensured a successful outcome as she navigated a constantly changing environment.”

Kathy Scheffer, RN, MN, CRN, nurse manager at MultiCare, Tacoma General Hospital, received the Association for Radiologic and Imaging Nursing 2011 Radiology Nurse of the Year Award. Scheffer joined MultiCare in 1979 and in 1982, she was the first RN to join the radiology department at Tacoma General.

Fay Bower, RN

After 10 years as nursing chairwoman at Holy Names University, Fay L. Bower, RN, DNSc, FAAN, assumed a new position as professor and senior counsel for nursing. In this role, Bower will recruit for existing nursing programs and develop new ventures and funding proposals. She will continue to direct the LVN/BSN program, as well as teach in the graduate, RN/BSN and LVN/BSN programs. She has been an RN for more than 60 years.

Barbara Drew, RN, PhD, FAAN, will receive the AACN-GE Healthcare Pioneering Spirit Award. She is Aldous Professor of Nursing Science at the University of California San Francisco School of Nursing. The award is from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses and supported by GE Healthcare. Drew’s research has focused on improving electrocardiographic monitoring techniques and clinical practices in hospital and pre-hospital settings for more accurate diagnosis of cardiac arrhythmias, myocardial ischemia and drug-induced prolonged QT syndrome.

Liana Orsolini-Hain, RN

Liana Orsolini-Hain, RN, PhD, CCRN, is among four other Health Policy Fellows for 2011-12. She is a tenured nursing instructor at City College of San Francisco and a per-diem staff nurse at the San Francisco Veterans Administration Medical Center. She served on the Institute of Medicine’s Initiative on the Future of Nursing. She is now part of the California Regional Action Coalition Leadership Team, aimed at implementing IOM recommendations. She will spend a year in Washington, D.C., where she will work on health-related issues with members of Congress and the executive branch.

Renae N. Battie, RN, MN, CNOR, will serve a 2011-12 term on the board for the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses. She works at Franciscan Health System in Tacoma, Wash.

Jennifer Gray, RN

Jennifer Gray, RN, of St. Joseph Medical Center in Tacoma, Wash., was named the 2011 Pierce County Nurse of the Year by the Pierce County Nurses Association. Gray divides her time as a resource nurse in the critical care department and as a staff nurse in the cardiac surgery unit. Those who nominated Gray praised her compassion, dedication, professionalism, friendliness and commitment to excellence.

Neil Johnson, RN, MSA, was named the senior vice president and chief operating officer at Evergreen Hospital Medical Center in Kirkland, Wash. He will be responsible for clinical operations including nursing and professional services, and home health and hospice services.


About Author

Leave A Reply