Fill out your new career PROfile on and let employers come to you • SIGN UP

Emergency nursing standouts from Georgia and North Carolina become academy fellows


The Emergency Nurses Association has announced the 2012 inductees to the Academy of Emergency Nursing. The AEN fellowship recognizes ED nurses for their contributions to patient care.

The 2012 Academy of Emergency Nursing inductees include:

Christine M. Gisness, RN, BC, MSN, FNP-C, CEN, associate provider, Emory University, department of emergency medicine, Grady Memorial Hospital, Atlanta, Ga., and Paula Tanabe, RN, MSN, PhD, MPH, associate professor of nursing and medicine, sickle cell disease clinical nurse specialist, Duke University, Durham, N.C.

The Academy of Emergency Nursing was constituted Sept. 28, 2004, to honor nurses who have made specific, substantial and enduring contributions to emergency nursing; who advance the profession of emergency nursing, including the healthcare system in which emergency nursing is delivered; and who provide visionary leadership to the Emergency Nurses Association. The fellows were inducted Sept. 15 during the 2012 ENA annual Conference in San Diego, Calif.

“Fellows in the Academy represent the best of the best and have provided invaluable groundbreaking leadership in emergency nursing,” said Gail Lenehan, RN, MSN, EdD, FAEN, FAAN, 2012 president of the Emergency Nurses Association, in a news release. “Their dedication to their patients and their colleagues is inspirational.”

For more information about the AEN, visit


About Author

Post a comment below or email

Leave A Reply