Fill out your new career PROfile on and let employers come to you • SIGN UP

Nursing professor joins International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame


Phyllis W. Sharps, RN, PhD, FAAN, associate dean for community and global programs and director of center for global nursing, is the latest faculty member of the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing in Baltimore to be named to the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.

Sharps is among 19 nurse researchers who will be inducted into the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame at STTI’s 24th International Nursing Research Congress from July 22-26 in Prague.

Created in 2010, the Hall of Fame recognizes nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves, according to a news release.

“That this recognition comes from researchers worldwide makes it that much more of an honor,” Sharps said in a news release. “It reinforces the importance of the work we’re doing in Baltimore and across the globe to protect women and children from violence. It’s great news for me, of course, but even greater news for any who will not be victimized tomorrow because of the work we’re doing today.”

Sharps is a specialist in maternal and child health nursing, with her clinical knowledge and research shared through several scholarly nursing and public health publications. She is the director of three Johns Hopkins University health and wellness centers and provides care for battered or homeless women and children.

Sharps’ primary research is dedicated to the effects of intimate partner violence on the physical and emotional health of pregnant women, infants and young children. She also consults on behalf of the Family Violence Prevention Fund, the National Institute of Justice and speaks among African-American women and in African-American communities.

Sharps is also the ninth JHUSON faculty member to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, joining Jerilyn Allen, Deborah Gross, Pamela Jefferies, Miyong Kim, and Marie Nolan, who were honored by the Sigma Theta Tau International Congress in Australia last July; Jacquelyn Campbell and Fannie Gaston-Johansson, inducted in 2011; and Dean Martha Hill, part of the inaugural class in 2010.

The award presentation is sponsored by Wiley-Blackwell.

“This year’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame inductees come from six countries and 11 U.S. states,” Sigma Theta Tau International President Suzanne Prevost, RN, PhD, COI, said in the release. “Their research projects will be shared through the Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library online so that nurses everywhere can benefit from their discoveries and insights into patient outcomes, healthcare policies and much more.”


About Author

To comment, email or post a comment below.

Leave A Reply