Fill out your new career PROfile on and let employers come to you • SIGN UP

Patient safety award goes to Memorial Hermann


The National Quality Forum and The Joint Commission have named Memorial Hermann Health System the 2012 recipient of the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award at the National Level. Memorial Hermann is the first Texas hospital system ever recognized with the Eisenberg Award, according to a news release.

The honor acknowledges Memorial Hermann and its affiliated physicians for their High Reliability Organization journey from Board to Bedside initiative. The hospital’s approach has focused on providing compassionate, operationally and financially efficient care by hardwiring high-reliability behaviors, evidence-based care and harm prevention among leadership and employees systemwide, according to the release. The Memorial Hermann High Reliability Certified Zero Award was created for hospitals that go for a year or longer without any occurrences of hospital acquired infections, hospital acquired conditions, or serious safety events. Since 2011, 78 such awards have been presented.

The patient safety awards program, launched in 2002 by NQF and The Joint Commission, honors John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Eisenberg also was a member of the founding Board of Directors of NQF. In his roles both as AHRQ administrator and chair of the federal government’s Quality Interagency Coordination Task Force, he was a passionate advocate for patient safety and healthcare quality and personally led AHRQ’s grant program to support patient safety research.


About Author

Post a comment below or email

Leave A Reply